the times they are a-changin’

Hey there, you. How are you doing? Well? Glad to hear it. I’m doing fine, I guess. Lots of stuff going on, so I’ve been pretty busy.

Now that we got the awkward small-talk out of the way, I figured I’d let you in on what’s happening over on our side of things, including some info on how the blog may be changing in the coming months.

So, as you may know, I (Jordan) recently got back from a brief three month romp in Africa. What you may not know is that I (still Jordan) am leaving this weekend for a brief four month romp in Latin America to work with street kids and orphans. Internships are addicting, ok?

I (Tony… j/k it’s Jordan) am not sure how often I will post once I arrive down there. There are a few reasons for this uncertainty: 1) I’ll be living with a bunch of insane latino teenagers and may exist in a perpetual state of semi-unconsciousness, and 2) I’ll be focusing on blogging from a separate, non-pseudonymous website (assuming I can ever decide on a gosh-darn domain name) about my time with the kids and all the zany lessons I learn, and to effectively maintain both seems unrealistic given how lazy I am (on a scale from 1 to 10, I didn’t bother to fill it in).

I’m to the point, now, that I think it would be best for me to take a small break from writing and thinking constantly about sexuality and to grow up a bit while focusing on my other passions (of which there are distressingly many). But I hope to jump headlong back into the sexuality discussion when I return from Latin America, at which point I will “come out” on my personal website and continue things from there.

I’ve decided not to “go public” until then because I don’t want to risk complicating this internship. I’m not sure it would, but I can wait. Once I do, however, I will post links on this blog.

While I may not write as many full-length posts, I intend to become more active on GaySubtlety’s Twitter, so if you aren’t following us there, you totally should (I’ll give you, like, 20,000,000 GS points if you do). I’ll frequently post links to interesting articles and videos, though not necessarily opining about them. As for this blog, we are looking at ways of turning it into a more formalized, indexed resource, but more on that later.

Anyway, thanks for your grace as we move into a bit of a different season and try to figure things out. I’ve already finished a post that I’ll put up on Friday. It’s one of the more important ones that I’ve written, at least for myself. After that, who knows! I’ll keep you updated as things progress.

Oh, and have a blessed Advent. What an incredible time to meditate on the nearness of Christ and the overwhelming beauty of the incarnation. God is very, very good, isn’t he?

Jordan

One thought on “the times they are a-changin’

  1. Great post, I hope you have a satisfying time of ministry, also reminds me Advent teaches us each year that Christian hope can never die, because it flows from an endless source – the love of Jesus Christ for each one of us, in spite of our weaknesses, sins, and failures.

Leave a Reply

