exodus

Hey guys,

I posted this article on Twitter/FB, but I figured I’d throw it on here, too. My mentor sent this to me and asked for my thoughts. I’ve never been too keen on Exodus, but it seems like they’re trying to change their modus operandi, at least in public relations. Anyway, I’m still not totally sure what to think. Give your opinions, I’m interested how people feel about Exodus, especially if you’ve actually been involved with them. I’ve heard good and bad things.

http://www.theatlantic.com/national/archive/2012/06/sexual-healing-evangelicals-update-their-message-to-gays/258713/#.T-OVXhT6xeU.email

Jordan

One thought on “exodus

  1. Wow, I had no idea about all of that bad history that Exodus had accumulated. I used to be in reparative therapy, and my therapist told me to read a book by one of the guys from Exodus about manhood. At the time it rang true to me, of course, but now looking back I think it was more about feeling good about yourself than it was about doing God’s will.

    I also do mission work in Uganda, and I had no idea that Exodus had actually had that sort of influence on that political situation. In the end, I still think Uganda probably did what they did because homosexuality was traditionally culturally taboo in the first place, not because of evangelical protestantism. I think Christianity (sadly) was an excuse for them to act out bigotry that was already present.

Leave a Reply

